PIXELS ENSEMBLE chamber ensemble

Wednesday 16 January 2019 at 8pm

Debussy – Sonata for cello and piano

Mozart – Flute Quartet in D major, K285

Debussy – Sonata for flute, viola and harp

Françaix – Quintet no. 1 for flute, harp and string trio

Debussy – Sonata for violin and piano

Mozart – Piano Quartet in G minor, K47

Pixels Ensemble is a collective of established chamber music players with a shared passion for performing the finest repertoire from the classical period to the present day. Vastly versatile, this group appears in a wide range of combinations and line-ups For Ilkley, Pixels will comprise a sextet of flautist, harpist and pianist with a string trio.

Their programme is built round the three sonatas, of a projected six, which Debussy completed before his death in 1918 and which, like Ravel’s Tombeau de Couperin, were intended to commemorate both those killed in the World War and evoke the French composers of the eighteenth century. The combination of flute and harp is taken up in the quintet by Jean Françaix full of his characteristic wit and charm. In addition we will hear the first of Mozart’s delightful flute quartets (K285) as well as the first ever piano quartet (K458), a financial failure because it was too difficult for amateurs!