DRAFT SUBJECT TO APPROVAL AT 2022 AGM

ILKLEY CONCERT CLUB

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting Convened remotely using Zoom Video & Teleconferencing Tuesday 16 November 2021, from 7.00pm

Present: Chris Skidmore (Chair), David Halpin (Honorary Secretary), and six members of the Ilkley Concert Club.

- 1. **Apologies for absence**: Alex Cockshott, Kathryn Brownridge, Dilys Kendall. Donald Williams (Honorary Treasurer), David Wharmby and Lindsey Wharmby.
- 2. **Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 11 November 2020:** These were confirmed as a correct record. Proposed by Richard Rundle, seconded by David Halpin, and agreed unanimously.
- 3. **Matters arising**: There were none.
- 4. **Honorary Secretary's Report:** Pre-circulated, the Honorary Secretary's Report noted that the Club's committee had regularly met virtually during the coronavirus pandemic. It also drew strong attention to the important need urgently to recruit additional people to join the committee, particularly individuals with IT/Comms skills.
- 5. **Honorary Treasurer's Report:** Pre-circulated, the Honorary Treasurer's Report noted that the Club, despite having to cancel all its concerts for the 2020-21 season because of the coronavirus pandemic, had made a surplus for the year. It also confirmed that the Club's finances, going forward, remain on a very sound footing.
- 6. The acceptance of each of the Honorary Secretary's and Honorary Treasurer's report was proposed by Paul Hurst, seconded by Josephine Wesley, and agreed unanimously.
- 7. **Presentation and adoption of the Club's Annual Report for the year ending 31 May 2021:** The report reminded members of the objectives of the Club "to educate the public in the art and science of music". It outlined the achievements of the Club in fulfilling that aim during the difficult year caused by the pandemic.

DRAFT SUBJECT TO APPROVAL AT 2022 AGM

8. The adoption of the Club's Annual Report in its entirety was proposed by Robert Templar, seconded by Pam Harris, and agreed unanimously.

9. **Nominations for the Committee:**

- a. **Election of Officers:** David Halpin to be re-elected as Honorary Secretary; and Donald Williams to be re-elected as Honorary Treasurer. Proposed by Paul Hurst, seconded by Josephine Wesley, and agreed unanimously.
- b. **New Member:** Paul Hurst had been nominated as a new member of the committee. His appointment was proposed by Josephine Wesley, seconded by Chris Skidmore, and agreed unanimously
- c. **Retiring Members willing to stand for re-election:** Robert Templar and Josephine Wesley. Proposed by Pam Harris, seconded by Paul Hurst, and agreed unanimously.
- 10. Chair's Remarks: The Chair, reflecting on the difficulties imposed by the coronavirus pandemic, drew attention to the Club's promotion of alternative musical experiences. which allowed support to be given to those artists to which it was already contracted by commissioning online concerts. He recognised the long-standing contribution made by Caroline Moseley to the Club's efforts to encourage local businesses to advertise in its concert programmes, a role from which she has stepped back. Finally, the Chair acknowledged the huge debt of gratitude owed to David Pyett, our President, who died in July. David had been a committee member since the Club's formation and his service ever since has made the Club the success it is today.
- 11. **Members' business:** There was none.
- 12. **Close of AGM:** The meeting ended at 7.23 pm.