BENYOUNES QUARTET with HÉLÈNE CLÉMENT viola string quintet

Wednesday 9 October 2019 at 8pm

Mozart               String Quintet no. 4 in G minor, K516

Bruckner           Adagio from String Quintet in F major

Dvořák              String Quintet in E flat major, op 97

Since forming at the Royal Northern College of Music in 2007, the Benyounes String Quartet have forged a reputation for fresh, vivid performances and interpretations of refinement and integrity. They have won prizes in both the Orlando International String Quartet Competition and the Sándor Végh Competition in Budapest. The Benyounes have performed at the Verbier, Aix-en-Provence, Aldeburgh and West Cork Chamber Music Festivals.

For this concert they will be joined by Hélène Clément, the prize-winning French violist of the Doric Quartet, to play first Mozart’s brooding, dark 4th String Quintet which escapes onto the sunny uplands only in the last movement. The Adagio from one of Bruckner’s few chamber works follows – full of his characteristic long melodies and rich chromatic harmonies. Finally the mood lifts for Dvořák’s last Quintet, composed in remote Spillville, Iowa, and, like all his American works, infused with his impressions of the indigenous music of America.

“The polish of the Benyounes Quartet was new... they already seem seasoned veterans with their tight ensemble and confident projection.” THE TIMES